September: Grateful, Positive and Moving Forward

2 Sep

A year and 2 months in New York City. Like whoa.

Sometimes I forget to slow down and appreciate what is going on in my life. Like a lot of people, I tend to fixate on the bad. I’m a perfectionist and a go-getter, so when things seem slow or confusing I start to get depressed or anxious. What am I doing with my life? How long until the next gig? Why do I get callbacks but not the job? Why did I drunk eat peanut butter on graham crackers last night? Why did I get a droid instead of an iPhone when 45 people responded to me on twitter and told me to get the iPhone? Some things we will never know, but sometimes if you stop to actually think of all the good things in life, you realize you are wasting a heck of a lot of time fixating on the bad. And usually, the ‘bad’ really isn’t that bad at all.

Sometimes it takes a nice long walk on a night like this to see things more clearly:Image

Isn’t that gorgeous? It was the view I had from Union City, New Jersey last night. Manhattan and a hot, full orange moon. Mhmmm.

So, it’s September. I’ve been in New York exactly one year and two months. And lots of great things have come my way. I went from moving out here with one of my best friends, Sadie…and not really knowing many people. Now I know a ton of people and wish I had more time to keep up the connections. I can get around the city without having mental breakdowns. I have an apartment without mice and two roommates that are really cool. I have an agent, a new manager and am freelancing with a few commercial agents. I’m currently rehearsing for a staged reading that will go up in November, and writing a review for Nu-Mode magazine next week. I’m continuously networking and in the process of getting an internship or job in the industry where I can take off for auditions. You get the idea. I have a really strong hunch that September is going to be good to me. It’s all about patience, perseverance and staying positive. I got this.

Oh, I also recently decided that no matter what happens, I will have a hobby farm when I’m older. Definitely horses. Definitely a few dogs. Possibly goats.

Did you guys see the new pictures from Andrew Kufahl? They aren’t all released yet, but here are two of the finished photographs. I love his artistic style and the stories behind the pictures. I will post them all in a separate blog when I have them all in my possession.

No matter what you do, do it fierce.

So, I guess what I’m trying to say is that life is about remembering all the great things we have going on, while pushing forward. I am continuously going through ups and downs, but I guess I’m on an up at the moment and I think a lot of this contributes to really taking the time to push out all the negative thoughts and energy I experience day to day. There are a few other things that are making me happy, but that’s for me to know 😉 I hope you will all take some time to remember all the wonderful things you have going on in life and cherish them. Whether that be that you’re actually working, you have a great family, a career or an almost-career, or that you flat out don’t feel like a crazy person—we all have a lot to be thankful for. Yeah, I know—it’s not even Thanksgiving. I’m getting a head start.

XOXO,

Dre Dre

P.s. Also, I played darts with Aaron Carter last weekend. Yolo.

P.p.s. I had intended for my next blog to be about heckling hecklers (actually hit on the creepers who say things to me rather than ignore them) and seeing their reactions, but then I wasn’t heckled for like three days. I think I’ve maybe found the secret of how not to not get cat called?! You have to actually WANT to get cat called and those little buggers are nowhere to be found. Either that or I’m getting ugly!

One Response to “September: Grateful, Positive and Moving Forward”

  1. Fiercy McPherson September 2, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

    I’m glad to hear that NYC is treating you well. I suggest a llama farm. And Nutella. Plenty of Nutella. ❤

Leave a Reply

