Dre Dre Stares

21 Nov

#DreDreStares #StaringProblems

Image

Last night I got in a street quarrel with a random guy because he thought I was staring lustfully at his girlfriend. Ummmmm what?! Rewind.

So there I was, leaving yoga and walking to the train, half in a daze and with my eyes probably glued to my phone (yep, I’m that girl) when I thought I saw someone I knew. I don’t know if this happens to other people living in a big city, but I usually get this weird feeling right before I run into someone I know on the street or in the subway. NYC is huge (obvi) so it’s fairly uncommon to bump into someone you know, but it does happen. Well, I got the feeling. “I’m going to see someone I know.” So I looked up and fixed my eyes on a girl in front of me, the side of her head. For a second I thought it actually might be my roommate Krystal. I did that thing where you cock your head and are ready to say, “OMG HEY!!!” but then the girl turned a smidge and I realized it wasn’t Krystal. Oh well, no harm done. (p.s. this period of actually looking at this girl could not have been more than 3 seconds tops.)

So, naturally I look back down at my phone to text or do something completely mindless, but then I hear a booming male voice say “you can stop staring, ma’am.”

I actually only looked up because I was excited to witness some street throw down, but when I look up I see this 6’5” intimidating-looking man glaring at ME. I do the side to side look thing to see who he is talking to, but his gaze is fixed on me.

“What? Are you talking to me?”

“Yes. I’m talking to you. It’s not nice to stare.”

“This is the first time I’ve seen you.”

“You were staring at my girlfriend.”

“Ohh!” I start laughing because I remember the moment where I thought I knew her. “Yeah I thought I knew her.”

“Yeah, sure.”

“No, I thought I knew her….”

“It’s rude to stare. Now walk away. Buh-bye”

“Are you kidding me right now?” At this point I’m getting riled up. I BARELY looked at this chick and now I have her giant boyfriend berating me on the street.

Things started to get kind of heated actually and as the walk sign turned on we escalated into some pretty loud banter that ended with him saying “You’re going to get your eyes poked out” and me saying something like  “Wow, you’re cool. Try being a happy person!” (Seriously? Try being a happy person? Yeah…I suck at this but that’s beside the point.) People were looking at us. I’m not exaggerating when I say it was a scene.

Now part of me wishes the story ended right there. Sure, I was pissed but it’s New York. You learn to brush things off. I go down to the subway and after 10 minutes of waiting on the platform, I board the 6 train uptown avoiding any and all eye contact, just spewing in my own annoyed state of mind. However, I can’t help but notice that the guy right next to me is definitely staring at me. I didn’t actually see him looking at me, but I can just feel his eyes boring into my soul. Oh, great—Karma. Just what I need right now. What the heck? This guy is just STARING, I can feel it—what the…..? I end up glancing up, and SHUT UP, IT’S THE GUY.

Now, I did not follow him. I had made sure not to be anywhere near him after our street quarrel and saw him and his girlfriend walk to the NQR train in Coopers Square while I went to the 6. But here he was, and we both gave each other this look of “Are you freaking kidding me?!” He must have walked his girlfriend to the NQR and then backtracked to the 6.

“I can’t seem to get away from you!” he smirked.

“Oh my gosh, don’t EVEN start with me right now.” I sass not even looking at him.

Now, I know you probably want to hear how we had this brawl on the subway or something crazy, but actually it ended up being the complete opposite. The dude actually apologized—he had thought I was giving his GF a lustful look (ummmm……okay?) but he’s used to people, guys and girls looking at her like that because “she’s a model.” I’m not going to even comment on that one. We end up talking the entire train ride home, and as fate would have it, he ended up giving me his email because he works in fashion and I had told him about Nu-mode magazine and whatnot.

Still annoyed that people like that exist out there, but whatever. It’s New York city, bitches. Will I email him? Of course not. But I do feel somewhat better that the issue was resolved. How often do you get in a fight on the street, think you’ll never see the person again—then you bump into them and end up hugging it out as you part ways? Exactly.

To be fair, I do have a pretty intense stare—but I know a stare when I do one and that was no stare.

I’ll show you a stare.

Image

And then I’ll eat you.

XOXO

Dre Dre

2 Responses to “Dre Dre Stares”

  1. Forever Alone November 21, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    Sounds to me like the guy has issues. If it were me, I’d have been flattered that a chick was checking out my chick.

    Of course, if it were me, I’d be single and alone. 😥

  2. Olivia May 19, 2013 at 3:47 am #

    Omg. X) Andrea, that was so funny. “Staring lustfully at his girlfriend.” I was cracking up when I pictured some huge black guy accosting you on the street. I died when I got to “SHUT UP, IT’S THE GUY.” Sigh. Must work on English research paper. Anyway, at least you got this awesome story for prosperity. =)

Leave a Reply

