BACK TO THE ISLAND- SURVIVOR SEASON 26

22 Jan

If you haven’t heard yet, I will be on the newest season of Survivor, which premieres February 13th, 2013. It’s really interesting going through the whole announcement process the second time around. When the cast was announced for Survivor-Redemption Island two years ago (YES TWO YEARS AGO WHAT IS HAPPENING) I literally sat at the kitchen table at my parents’  house and didn’t move from my computer.

Text after text after call after facebook message after friend request after random neighbors stopping by. It was crazy! I didn’t even have twitter back then…..#old.  At that time I was nervous about being kicked out of the fine arts program for lying and saying that I had missed out of a section of the semester because I was on a “mission trip.” To sum it up, I was a basket case, a nervous mess reading all the comments and blogs, and obsessing over every mean or creepily nice remark.

Actually, to be quite honest, I didn’t enjoy watching my first season of Survivor. I was so concerned about the edit (which turned out to be fine), obsessing over comments (made by people who have avatars that are eggs), and getting wrapped up in the whole reality-social-media-world as if it was my life.

Needless to say, I learned my lesson. It’s no fun to not have fun, so this time I’m just going to enjoy the process for what it is/was. Alas, here is my promo pic!

Image

I’d say it is a nice improvement. Hey, they even gave me cleavage! I’ll take it.

Of course, even though I plan to not obsess over blogs and ridiculousness, I do scope for fun chops like this one:

Image

So the moral of the story is that this season, I plan to have fun with it. And you know what? I almost HOPE they give me some ridiculous confessionals or make me look like a complete bumbling idiot at some point. Have you seen the other cast members? Yeah, I’ll be lucky if I get any airtime at all. With that said, I do think the editors do a great job of making Survivor so awesome—there have been 26 seasons after all. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to blog much about the actual show, I know some contestants in the past try to give everyone the “low down” or “what really happened” but I aim to just watch the show as is.

Anywhoo, stay tuned for Island Wednesdays! Or don’t.

XOXO

Dre Dre

Image

4 Responses to “BACK TO THE ISLAND- SURVIVOR SEASON 26”

  1. Damian January 30, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

    Go Andrea!!! I hope that you will beat them all ;))

  2. paul February 1, 2013 at 1:58 am #

    “It’s no fun to not have fun” – wonderful words to live by. You are not only beautiful but exceptionally bright. Thank you for letting me part of the journey.

  3. Pete February 21, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

    Just found your blog Andrea, glad to have some place to follow you.. wow, got scared in that first episode of Survivor.. seems like everyone knows what kind of game you are.. hopefully you guys lined up a few wins to get everyone to turn their attention to other members… best of luck 🙂

    • andreaboehlke February 27, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

      Thanks Pete! I seriously need to update more, but I’m working on it! Thanks for the follow!

Leave a Reply

