A Really Gross Guy Disappears

2 Feb

A few hours ago I was walking to my apartment from Starbucks and heard a guy behind me start calling out to me.

“Hey mami. Hey mama. Mami. Hey, I have to ask you a question.”

Okay so this is typical in New York. It’s disgusting but I usually can’t go a day without getting cat called and this goes for any NYC girl. I even live in a nice area.

Normally I wouldn’t even consider turning around and humouring the guy, but I think the “Hey I have to ask you a question” got my attention. I mean, that’s a weird thing to say. And he was so persistent in his calling for me that I wondered if maybe I dropped something, which is very typical behavior for me.

So I turn around. He’s still pretty far behind me.

Just picture uhhhhhh, a really REALLY gross and scary looking guy. I’m not going into details because I don’t want to offend anyone, but I think my jaw dropped.

The guy repeated, “I have to ask you a question.”

All I could mutter was “noooooo” and it sounded like a weird whimper and slightly like a cat noise. And then I ran. Luckily I was only a half a block from my apartment and I’m really good at balancing lattes, so I made it to the door really quickly. Plus, the guy was the opposite of being in shape. I frantically found my keys, and right before stepping into my apartment I looked back.

Nothing. The man was gone.

So creepy.

XOXO

Dre Dre

P.S. I know what you’re thinking—that I shouldn’t have ran to my apartment. Well, I just wanted to get away from this guy and it was a frantic decision. Plus, since he was gone when I turned back I think he just went the other way when I started booking it. Either way, creepy men: WHY?????!!!

19 Responses to “A Really Gross Guy Disappears”

  1. David February 2, 2013 at 11:39 pm #

    Maybe he just wanted to ask you a question…
    OK, maybe not…

  2. George February 3, 2013 at 12:33 am #

    After reading your blog entry, I am really curious what his question was going to be…

    • Pat February 3, 2013 at 1:00 am #

      Ditto, I’m dying to know the question as well!

      Stay safe, Dre… I just hope he didn’t note which building you went into, or you might end up with a stalker waiting outside the next time you go out.

      • andreaboehlke February 3, 2013 at 3:39 am #

        Right….what was the question?!?!? It has been bugging me ever since. But seriously—this guy didn’t even look human. Freaky.

      • Pat February 3, 2013 at 4:22 pm #

        Speaking of strange people on the street… Are there any plans to have ‘public’ viewing parties on Wednesdays this coming season? My wife and I will be in NYC in March!

      • andreaboehlke February 3, 2013 at 8:41 pm #

        Yes! I have a few friends that are great planners and they want to throw some viewing parties at places around the city. So, if they plan it, I’ll post about it. Would love it if you came to one!

      • Pat February 3, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

        Great! Will keep an eye on your blog then. We’ll be visiting from Canada (no no, we’re not that guy from Quebec as we’re in the next province over, Ontario) and looking forward to our first visit to NYC since 2004 — but we can’t live without Survivor, so gotta get our fix one way or another while we’re there.

  3. Sean DeFrancesco February 3, 2013 at 12:46 am #

    Well I guess he gets to keep the pen that you dropped.
    That’s normally the “twist” when the bully is chasing somebody.
    ….
    at least the first time.
    If you saw him again then you’d have to run. But this way is probably safer. An extra trip to Office Max and a blog where a fan of yours wants to make a witty joke, but keeps it going longer than it needed to be is worth the embarrassment of realizing it was just a pen. Especially considering you’d for a moment feel guilty and give him an opportunity to write down a number with the pen, which you of course would have given him a former friend or ex boyfriend, and have to deal with the annoyance of them calling you because “only Andrea would give it away like that”. And the coffee would get cold.

    But in reality, he was the opposite of being in shape. Walking would have got you home safely if you were in danger, since I’m sure he was slow and you’d also pass a restaurant on the same block, that he’d have no choice but to ask what the daily specials are.

    • andreaboehlke February 3, 2013 at 3:41 am #

      WORD.

      • Cassie February 3, 2013 at 2:55 pm #

        My weirdest street moment: a famous homeless lady on Marquette’s campus (yes famous, we ALL knew who she was for various crazy reasons)–stopped directly in my path, in the middle of the sidewalk, hiked up her dress and peed. I had to jump over the top of her to avoid, well, to avoid all different kinds of contact.

        Beat that, Andrea, beat that.

        Can’t wait to see you on the 13th.

      • andreaboehlke February 3, 2013 at 8:43 pm #

        Cassie!!!! That is hilarious! This situation wasn’t super unusual– it was more that the guy looked kind of like an alien. And then how he was just…gone? Creeps Mgeeps.

  4. Graeme March 16, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    I had someone do the same, except for some reason he wanted to fight….not sure why, I was walking home from the grocery store

  5. Andrew Longo March 21, 2013 at 3:58 am #

    Hey I have to ask you a question?
    Are you a Christian woman?
    I knows it’s random, but I just like your bio and was wondering about you!

    • andreaboehlke March 22, 2013 at 2:19 am #

      Yes, I am. Why?

      • Andrew Longo March 22, 2013 at 3:39 am #

        That’s awesome what kind of church are you apart of if you don’t mind me asking? I was just interested to know because I am and I was just wondering to know more about ya! I got interested in you by watching survivor and I was just wondering like I said! Your bio is cool!!!

      • andreaboehlke March 23, 2013 at 1:06 am #

        I was raised Lutheran, but in NYC I jump around a lot ,so nothing is set when I’m here. When I’m home in WI I go to St. Lucas Lutheran in Kewaskum. What about you?

      • Andrew Longo March 23, 2013 at 1:21 am #

        I’m actually studying to be come a pastor but I’m part of an Assemblies of God church! I like that you grew up on a farm, what kind of farm were you raised on!

  6. HangKasturi April 20, 2013 at 1:01 am #

    And all your fat fanboys got sad reading this.

  7. Bryan L May 8, 2013 at 5:05 pm #

    What if God was one of us. Just a slob like one of us. Just a stranger on a bus… trying to make his way home 🙂

Leave a Reply

