“Shut Up and Make Lasagna”

7 Feb

So these past few days have been particularly stressful for me and this next week is going to be nuts. I don’t want to complain about being busy, because busy equals awesome, but I did have several break downs yesterday. On top of regular work and auditions I’m now hunting for a new apartment for March (which is going terrible), it’s Survivor press week AND to top it off it is Fashion Week so I’m traipsing around the city. Again, I LOVE that I get to do all of this, but it’s hard to keep everything straight. So I’m stressed and cranky but I keep repeating one phrase to myself.

“Shut Up and Make Lasagna.”

Believe it or not, it was my mother who coined this phrase. On Christmas break I was home with my mom in the kitchen preparing lasagna for the night. I was in a major cranks mgranks mood and I started saying something dramatic and “woe is me” which I really only do to myself and my poor mom. Like, “I think I’m going to leave NY, what am I doing, I’m a loser, etc..”

Then, out of nowhere my mom goes, “Oh shut up and make lasagna.”

Shut up and make lasagna. Huh. Pretty catchy.

She has a point: instead of worrying, fretting, being dramatic and an outright lunatic, just complete the task at hand. Now, when I’m going nutty I just tell myself to “make lasagna.” Even though I’m a terrible cook, I know what I’m trying to say. You just gotta suck it up and have fun with what you’re doing because life is short. Boy, mothers do know best.

XOXO

Dre Dre

3 Responses to ““Shut Up and Make Lasagna””

  1. Victor Schueller February 7, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

    Right on — stay in the present and all the worries and self-defeating thoughts dissolve. Good luck this week with all the busy activities! Enjoy it! 🙂

  2. Zing Bot February 8, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

    This reminds me of the movie, Being There.

  3. Graeme March 16, 2013 at 9:30 am #

    Don’t let NYC intimidate you

Leave a Reply

