Then your Sassy Gay Friend kicks you on the ground. WHAT ARE YOU DOING?!

28 Feb

I feel like my life is filled with Sassy Gay Friend moments. If you haven’t seen this video, watch it now so we can be on the same page:

I love him. As corny as it is, he has a point: sometimes you just need to get it together! I hate to admit it, but I sometimes get caught up in the reality tv thing and I let it affect my otherwise usually positive attitude. Yes, I try to embrace the good, the bad and the embarrassing, but I’m only human. I feel like many Survivor contestants have a hard time watching themselves on national television in intense and very vulnerable situations. I find myself going back and forth with the “OMG I GOT AIRTIME LET’S PARTY” to then feeling gloomy and second guess my perception of the episode, the game, everything. “Okay so now she hates me,” or “I’m coming across too this or that.”

And then real life creeps up like a Sassy Gay Friend. Or in my case, my real life sassy gay friend Matt starts yelling at me on facebook chat like he did earlier today.

What are you doing?! What, what, WHAT are you doing? Why on earth would waste time overthinking a tv GAME show and what strangers think? Even typing this out makes the whole things seem silly….why DO I care?!

That’s why I encourage anyone in the public eye to just remember that no matter what, your friends and family and a few fans from Canada will think you’re awesome. Plus, you have real life issues to sort out. You know, like how you need an apartment for…..March. Or how you need a new job starting last week. Or how people are facing real life issues. Getting caught up in social media mayhem will only make you feel sad or anxious. It’s a lose-lose. People will criticize you for anything and everything and the only way you can rise above it is to brush everything off. Life is too short.

Speaking of life being too short, today is my sister Jerilyn’s birthday. She would have been 22 years old today. This is a beautiful poem my mother wrote about her:

Image

I think about Jeri all the time, she truly was an inspiring girl and the best sister and friend I could ever ask for. If she were here today and saw me getting caught up in feeling sorry for myself she would definitely hit me up with a “what, what, WHAT are you doing?!”  (P.s. Anyone can be a SGF, they don’t have to be gay or even sassy…..but probably at least a friend of yours.)

We all need to just chill out a little more. Take life’s experiences for what they are and encourage kindness and a sense of humor. I’m going to do that from now on as well as blog more. I’ve been slacking.

XOXO

Dre Dre

3 Responses to “Then your Sassy Gay Friend kicks you on the ground. WHAT ARE YOU DOING?!”

  1. Sean DeFrancesco March 1, 2013 at 4:54 am #

    Well I was going to tell you how much I liked what you said and think you have the right idea about taking in other peoples perceptions of you…., but I don’t want to get you caught up in this social media mayhem so I won’t say any of that… WHAT AM I DOING?


    Side note, lovely poem your mother wrote. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Husna Ahmad sany April 20, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

    Hey Andrea, didn’t know you had a sister who passed on, that was beautiful, hope you are easier on yourself because I believe everyone’s spirit is innately good at the end of the day. Have best perceptions of other people and they will have best perceptions of you, and if otherwise, you lose nothing because your happiness would stem from inward instead of from others 🙂

  3. Fred Renault May 8, 2013 at 10:36 am #

    I empathize with you young lady as my mother was taken from me suddenly and tragically. Life is fleeting. Embrace and love the one near to you as they can be taken without notice. Know that your sister and my mother, and all loved ones, live in our hearts and fond memories. You will see her again as I will my mom. Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us.

Leave a Reply

