Losing things–It’s what I do

19 Apr

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to be one of those people who loses everything? Well, welcome to my life. I definitely lose something important every month, if not more often than that. I think it’s because I do too much at once, I multitask like a crazy person and it just keeps backfiring.

My latest doozy happened last night. I was taking a cab home from JFK after a week of traveling (Toronto, LA, blah blah) so I’m tired, it’s around 1:30 a.m. and I just want to pass out. Yet, it’s never that easy with me. Of course I’m chatting on the phone, carrying three bags and am overall completely delusional from all this plane time and I must have dropped my keys in the cab.

So I walk up to the front door and do the ole pocket grab for my keys. Nope. Not there. Not there either. No way. OMG. You’ve got to be kidding me. Cut to me opening up all of my luggage and throwing things around looking for these darn keys. Then, I had to face defeat. Lost ‘em.

I feel like for a normal person that doesn’t misplace everything, this is probably a very unpleasant scenario. However, since losing things is what I do best, I don’t even freak out. It’s more of a sigh and roll of the eyes. So I proceed to call each of my roommates and ring the doorbell. Nothing. Okay so now I’m starting to get concerned. A few weeks ago there was a girl beat up a few avenues over, it’s late and I’m standing outside half asleep.

Fortunately, my neighbor that lives below me ended up hearing the doorbell and let me into the building. Okay, this is progress. Still no replies from my roommates. It’s now about 3 a.m. I guess I’ll just sleep on the ground outside the door? I mean, I’ve slept on worse.

Then, my neighbor, who has been chatting me up for a good hour, suggests I call a locksmith. Ooooh! Just the idea of calling a 24 hour locksmith intrigues me. So a handy man will just show up and unlock my door?? The “damsel in distress” side of me loves this idea, without thinking about how much this would actually cost me. I call the locksmith, he is on his way. Yay. It’s now 4 a.m.

Then, miraculously, my friend Adam who lives near me ( I actually forgot about him when I texted a bunch of other Astorians looking for a couch to crash on) texted me that he wants to grab coffee sometime to talk about Survivor. I am overjoyed! I can just sleep over at Adam’s tonight! Wait…the locksmith. I tell Adam about the locksmith and he warns me that the dude will probably charge me over $200 to let me in. BA-SCUZE ME?! No, that is not happening. Sorry to all locksmiths out there who are reading this, but that is NOT HAPPENING!

As if on cue, the locksmith arrives and takes a look at the door. I coyly ask how much it will cost and then put on my innocent naïve girl façade: “oh, I only have $20, I can give that to you for your trip out here. I’m so sorry.” The locksmith is pissed, rightly so, but he takes the 20 and skedaddles.

I go find Adam and we have a sleepover. The End. Moral of the story? I don’t know. If you are a person that doesn’t lose things, good job. If you are more like me, then sorry….sucks to be you. I guess we should try harder to not lose things? Meh. 

Anyway, LA was fun!

Image

XOXO

Dre Dre

7 Responses to “Losing things–It’s what I do”

  1. trish April 19, 2013 at 6:42 pm #

    my best friend ever lives in Astoria! i’m coming from chi-town to partayyy on may3. totally not a Survivor night, whomp, but let us know if you want to hangsies/if you recommend anywhere cool. also, i had a similar night like this once except with a dead cellphone on top of everything. the worst. ciao!

  2. Dave April 20, 2013 at 9:42 am #

    Love you Andrea. Need girls like you in Ireland. You ever been?

  3. Karina April 20, 2013 at 11:33 pm #

    Make sure you hang on to your charged cell phone Drea. 😉 Do you have new keys yet?

  4. Harry April 22, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

    That was my life freshmen year of college. I had two keys one to my room, and one to actually access the floor my room was located on. Always forgot my floor key, but I meet a lot of people. Saw your video of the teddy bear eating the corn thought you might enjoy this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qz__XEDVXTM (songs pretty catchy too)

    • andreaboehlke April 27, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

      OMG THAT IS AMAZING!!! (the video…I guess also the story 😉

    • andreaboehlke April 27, 2013 at 6:46 pm #

      OMG THAT IS AMAZING!!! (the video…I guess also the story 😉

Leave a Reply

