The final Survivor blog. Probably.

8 May

Well, it has been fun…

Man. What a crazy year it has been! For those of you not aware, Survivor Season 26:Fans vs. Favs is coming to end this Sunday. Today I fly out to LA where I join my cast for the finale and live reunion show. What an amazing yet super stressful run!

As I sit awake in my bed at 5 a.m. I know I should be sleeping but also know that is impossible because I am just so darn excited. I haven’t seen most of these people in almost a year. You go and spend an incredibly intense experience with complete strangers, grow really close to a lot of them and then just don’t see them again. What? How is that fair?!

Since this is probably the last time I play Survivor, I just wanted to reflect on some of the amazing memories this show has brought me over the past going-on-4 years.

Rewind to my first season of Survivor. Here I am, a little baby 21 year old  who heads out to Nicaragua for a “once in a lifetime adventure….”

Image

…I do some f.ierce things, win some challenges…

Image

Image

….but the best part?? I got to see MY DAD on the island. Royal to the rescue.

ImageSeeing my dad out on the island was a dream come true. I think he was even more emotional than me. It’s crazy how even though you are only away from home for 30 plus days, it feels like a LIFETIME and you just can’t stop thinking about your family and how much they mean to you.

So anyway, all said and done I had a blast playing on Season 22. Did I expect CBS to call me up and play again? Not really, but how can you say no?! So I agree to play Survivor again and embark on my “second once in a lifetime adventure,” this time venturing to the Philippines. Not to take anything away from Nicaragua or Season 22, but I had twice as much fun on this season. I think being a few years older as well as being on a season where I could actually make moves really added to the fun and suspense of the experience. Add in the fact that I was somehow the number one most targeted person on my entire season and it adds for a great viewing experience!

I made some friends on this season that I will cherish forever.

Image

And although I didn’t get to see my loved ones on the island, my mom and my sister actually got to travel out to the Philippines and enjoy a nice little fun-filled CBS trip. When I heard that my mom AND sister were out there, but I wasn’t going to see them because I foolishly got voted out with an idol in my pocket, I started bawling. I couldn’t control my emotions because I missed them so much. However, you have to take the good with the bad. At least they got to come out to the Philippines! They are proud I made it as far as I did. Plus, I got to read my letters on the island so there’s that.

Image

Honestly though, I had fun and all, but the Survivor experience is completely humbling. As much as it probably seems like I would enjoy watching myself on television it is quite the opposite. The whole set up of Survivor makes it a rather difficult experience once you get back in the real world–first getting adjusted to your real life and work, then dealing with social media, lovers and haters, the “fifteen minutes or whatever” and people you may have offended or hurt while playing. Sometimes I watch myself onscreen and I feel like I have a LOT of growing up to do. Sometimes I wonder if I should have done Survivor at all. But then I tell myself. NO. NO, ANDREA, NO. Remember how much fun you had. Remember how amazing and proud of yourself you were when you balanced on a floating dog house for three hours in the ocean and WON the challenge. Remember how you orchestrated a move in the game even when your entire alliance told you something different and you actually saved yourself that night. Remember that one day when they fed you all-you-can-eat peanut butter. THESE THINGS DON’T HAPPEN IN REAL LIFE. Remember the amazing friends you made who love you to this day. Remember going back to Wisconsin with Cochran for a viewing party like this:

Image

Even though, good thing he came THAT week instead of the next! He would have been in big trouble. Oh, and you were picked up by a frickin’ fire truck in Random Lake, deal with it.

945216_121363914731375_338741293_n

So when I sit back and look at all the memories, the home town support, and the realization that this experience was less about me but more about bringing people together to watch some good ole island silliness, then it all makes much more sense. Thank you to everyone who supported me in this endeavor, and who continue to support me in everything I do. It means more than you know.

Image

Sitting on wells and crushing dreams,

XOXO

Dre Dre

26 Responses to “The final Survivor blog. Probably.”

  1. Doug Sklar (@PhilanthroFIT) May 8, 2013 at 10:53 am #

    Very well said. That intense experience to not seeing people again can really play tricks on your mind. Congrats on a great season, and thanks for representing NYC with class and dignity. Best of luck in all future endeavors Andrea. And great work on Fit or Flop, btw.

  2. coachgt1 May 8, 2013 at 11:15 am #

    Survivor will not be the same without you. You are one of my favorite Survivor players ever. Good Luck to you in all of your endeavors.

  3. freeskany May 8, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    such precious memories you have shared with me.

  4. Edward (@uk_edward) May 8, 2013 at 11:23 am #

    Little sister preventing Malcolm from finding his idol one step away, haha! give it!

  5. Polo May 8, 2013 at 11:47 am #

    May the F.ierce be with you. ❤

  6. Char May 8, 2013 at 12:14 pm #

    Loved having a “homegrown” Wisconsin girl on Survivor. Made it so personal, and you definitely represented! I feel like we are old friends! lol. I get the feeling you have a life time of adventures ahead. You did an amazing job Andrea – I’m so proud of you!

  7. joshuaquirk May 8, 2013 at 2:03 pm #

    Great story Andrea, that would have taken me ages to write so I appreciate your time putting your honest thoughts on the blog (it’s great to get a little inside perspective as well – I have so many questions about what it’s like!!). Good stuff. I Loved watching you on survivor. I often get so engrossed in the show I feel like I know certain people personally and that definitely happened when I watched you on survivor. I really liked your game play .. You should be proud of your time on the show and how you reacted to your “15 mins of whatever” 🙂
    Hope to see you on the screen again soon!

    Josh

  8. Victor Schueller May 8, 2013 at 3:06 pm #

    Congrats and awesome job, Andrea. Many are proud of you and your accomplishments. Relish the moment! 🙂

    Always wishing you my best,

    -Victor

  9. Rick Barry May 8, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

    Andrea, I enjoyed your game play and personality better this time around. Toward the end, especially, you were really thinking and planning, and that scared ’em. But even your exit was one of the most graceful possible, and you went with a smile instead of a frown or a pout. That was classy. Blessings to you.

  10. Billy May 8, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

    Dre Dre, you’re one of my faves. Top 5. Thank you for this blog entry, your presence, but most importantly your positive attitude.

    If I ever get on the show (if I ever apply…), expect to be listed under “favorites” on CBS.com. One day.

    Stay f.ierce.

  11. Irene May 9, 2013 at 1:37 am #

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We loved watching you again and so proud of you.

  12. iamtoofree May 9, 2013 at 5:14 am #

    Dr Dre (PhD in Survivor)

    Can’t wait to see you at the finale!

  13. Daisy Macatangay (@gandasya) May 9, 2013 at 7:25 am #

    “Sitting on wells and crushing dreams” Girl, that line was epic and classy like you! Can’t wait for the finale!

  14. Julian Alexander Terris May 10, 2013 at 3:15 am #

    That’s a really nice blog -and it shows that you’ve got the right attitude to the whole thing. #Class 🙂

  15. Karina May 10, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

    Drea, you had a great season. 🙂 Will miss you next season.
    “Sitting on wells and crushing dreams.” … love that. And I love how you sported your idol for Tribal. 😀
    Stay fierce, Andrea. And come see me in DC one day 😮

  16. Tony Hurley May 11, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

    As long time Survivor fans (I haven’t missed an episode since I jumped aboard at week 6 of Season 1) Miranda and I have truly enjoyed both of your adventures. Years ago, my whole family created our own Survivor pool and would pick players to score points for us during the season. If your player read tree mail, it was worth 2 points. If they got naked on the beach, it was worth 4 points (used to happen a lot in previous seasons). If they made Jury it was worth 10 points, ect. I think every year my sister Brenda would take 1st and Miranda 2nd.
    Anyway, to have someone from your hometown, someone from a family I’ve known all my life, be on our favorite show, was incredible. It was like we were on it with you, agonizing over strategy, feeling the disappointment after lost challenges, the heartbreak at seeing your name written down at tribal. IT WAS AWESOME!
    Thank you so much, and good luck with whatever adventure awaits you next.

    • Jeff May 13, 2013 at 2:01 am #

      I think you played a great game this time around and proved you are an awesome player, with and especially without Boston Rob. Classy final tribal question too! Continue to sit on wells and crush (in the positive way) dreams!

  17. Korey May 13, 2013 at 5:16 am #

    This season was really my first time watching servivor. It seemed to be a hard and exsausting experience. But through all the hard and tough things the game threw at you, you seemed to always have a smile on your face. You had an amazing season! You should be proud of yourself!

  18. Such a cunt May 13, 2013 at 7:49 am #

    you’re a disgusting bitch

    • Karina May 14, 2013 at 1:07 am #

      Well then why are you on her blog?

    • Tom May 14, 2013 at 2:02 pm #

      You must be dyslexic- YOU are the disgusting bitch- and your name seems very fitting. Andrea is a brilliant, savvy, kind, and beautiful woman.

  19. Jon C May 20, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    Andrea, you are the best!! ! wish you won! I have watched all the Survivors and you are by far my favorite. You have it all: beauty, brains, tenacity, gentle and kind heart. It’s an honor for me to even leave this message to you. I love how you were able to be both “in the game” yet treat people with love and respect. I’m a bit embarassed to admit this, but I might even have a small crush on you! =) I’d love and treasure a small reply message from you! =)

  20. Alex May 21, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    Cheered for you on survivor. Good luck with your future life endeavors. You are a very entertaining person.

  21. Steven May 24, 2013 at 10:03 am #

    You actually did really well playing this time and had a great attitude. Would be good to see you play again!

  22. Damian July 25, 2013 at 7:33 pm #

    I know – this comment is a little bit too late but I have just finish watching Survivor: Caramoan. You play really brilliantly, I love Your game in Survivor and I really, really hope that wasnt Your last time in this game. Watching You once more will be awsome 😉

Leave a Reply

