TWENTY FIVE AND STILL ALIVE

19 May

So this is a huge year for me. Not only did I turn a quarter of a century old recently, but it’s also going to mark year number 3 of living in New York City! This blows my mind, because I don’t think I ever thought I would still be here after three years. I always looked at my move to New York as an experiment, something I could say I at least tried. Yet, I am still here! I have two consistent hosting jobs that I love, where I get paid to make videos and talk (and if you know me you know I’m a rather Chatty Cathy), and I have made some amazing friends that I know will be friends for life. If you live in NYC as a twenty-something (or actually, just in general), you know there is never a dull moment. The most exciting years of my life have happened here in NYC and I know this is only the beginning.

Since I’m trying to get back into blogging, a change in age is a perfect time to get back into it and reflect on the past year. Amiright??  I’ve had a really crazy and exciting past year, I’ve learned so much about myself, and can’t wait to incorporate those life lessons into year 25. I think it’s going to be pretty great. Anyway, here are a few bullet points of things I’ve learned, take it for what it’s worth.

NYC. Will I live here forever? Definitely not. Do I love it? More and more, actually. It also helps now that it’s warming up. I know I’m probably going to move to LA eventually, and almost did a month ago actually, but then I came back to NYC and booked a few gigs and that was the message I needed to stay. At least for a bit to ride out the work wave. I’m definitely trying to focus on that this year. Instead of fighting everything and making a point to stress about things, I want to sit back and just appreciate EVERYTHING so much more. Seeing all the people who made it out to my 25th birthday party was a good reminder that I have a lot of completely amazing people in my life who truly care about me, and that I should cherish every single moment I have with all of them, because who knows how much longer I will be in this city. I could be gone in a few months, so I should just soak in every day. But for now, for this moment, I am here. Another reason I have to stay for now: Kate is finally out here and we are in talks of getting our first plant together. It’s a big step. With great plant comes great responsibility… 

Image

Career. I could sit here and rattle off cool things I’ve done in the past year, and how “I’m so #blessed” or whatever, but in reality nobody really cares. Some people might think you are living the dream and envy your accomplishments while other people think what you’re doing is lame, but the most important thing you can do is just, live your life! Eventually you realize that nobody is thinking about you or checking up on you as much as you might think they are. It’s just you and your life, baby. 

The most important thing I’ve learned about “career” is that it can’t come first, at least not for me, because that won’t bring me sustainable happiness. Am I on top of the world when I book a gig or land a new job? Absolutely! But in my line of work, anything career-related is flakey and you really can’t count on it. I LOVE working (hosting, acting, being on sets and learning everything and anything I can) but work in my field of work is completely unreliable. I’ve done a lot of things this year that I’m really proud of, and every experience helps me gain more confidence and connections, but if I’m a moody mess when something doesn’t go my way with work? Ain’t nobody got time for that! I’ve always been the kind of person who always wants more and I usually don’t feel as accomplished as I want to be, so this year I’m going to live in the moment a little more and just kind of …. Chill. That sounds kind of nice.

Age. Does it feel weird to be 25? Not as weird as I thought. I think for most of my time as a 24-year old I was dreading to turn the big 2-5, but now that I’m here, it’s actually kind of nice. Yes, at 25 I am now the oldest I’ve been…. But I now know that age really has zero to do with happiness. And also in the grand scheme of things, 25 is very young. It’s a good age! I don’t need to have babies tomorrow, yet I’m becoming more of a woman and less of a child. I’ve also learned that if you surround yourself with people older than you instead of 18 year olds, you will feel very young and vibrant. There’s always that. 

God and Family. I guess it depends on the person, but more than anything I know that the staples in my life, the things that are most stable above everything else, are my faith and my family. Relationships come and go, you move cities, you change careers once or twice or a million times, but I know that no matter where I am or how confusing life gets, I can always pray about it, and I can always return home to some ridiculously incredible and hilarious people. I am blessed to have grown up in such a tight-knit and supportive family, and that’s something that I am always reminded of when other things that I thought were constants in my life shift or disappear. Plus, it’s my sister’s 20th birthday in a few days and isn’t she the cutest thing you’ve ever seen in your life??!Image

Okay maybe not that picture. Let’s try this one.

Image

Nope, that’s not it. Here we go. 

Image

I am… so sorry.

Okay! Look, here’s a normal looking picture of Sabrina and my other sister Sharla who is for some reason dressed up like a grandma slash frog thing. 

ImageWhat cuties! Sharla just turned 16 a few weeks back, though you wouldn’t know if from the picture. She is now a state championship varsity point guard as a sophomore, what whaaaat??! I’m obsessed with those two. They are so, so very weird, but two of the coolest and most wonderful girls I know. 

Well, that’s the gist! I’m super excited to be 25 for a whole year, and actually continue blogging?? I’m planning on blogging more regularly, so from now on the entries will be more focused on crazy things that happen to me in the city or daily revelations, rather than random recaps every 6 months. But you need a solid base, you know? That’s what I’m doing. It’s all about the building. 

Anyway, nice to see you again. Peace and flowers and hippies and all that stuff.

Image

XOXO

Dre Dre

 

3 Responses to “TWENTY FIVE AND STILL ALIVE”

  1. Zing May 20, 2014 at 2:40 pm #

    Nice to read your update. Hope to see you in the upcoming Legends, or, if they have a returnees BvW again, you and your sister

  2. F.ierce Bloggess ;) May 20, 2014 at 3:52 pm #

    Glad to hear life’s going f.iercely! Keep it real gurl xo

  3. cotter000 November 3, 2014 at 2:22 pm #

    Andrea!

    Just watched you get blindsided – again on Caramoan…I’m going to force myself to finish watching the season.

    Still in NYC? Or finally where you belong; out here in the city of Angeles?

    Time for an update.

    The whistles go “woo woooooooooo”

Leave a Reply

